Return to articles

2023 Women's World Cup: How to Watch & What to Expect

Learn everything you need to know about the 2023 Women’s World Cup, including how to watch, which teams qualified, which U.S. stars are playing, and more.

Sports unite the world, and few competitions bring us all together like the FIFA Women’s World Cup. It’s the premiere international tournament for women’s soccer, watched by millions of fans across the globe.

Whether you’re a super fan who needs to catch every match, or you just want to cheer on the U.S. women’s team, we’ve got you covered.

Find out everything you need to know about this year’s tournament below, including who’s playing, how to watch, and more.

When is the Women’s World Cup This Year?

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will run from July 20-August 20. That’s an entire month of world-class soccer at its finest.

What Country is Hosting the 2023 Women’s World Cup?

This year’s tournament will be hosted by multiple nations. Co-hosts Australia and New Zealand will represent the first Oceania nations to host the World Cup, giving spectators a chance to experience the wonders of both Sydney and Auckland.

Which Teams Qualified?

For the first time, the tournament will feature 32 teams, up from the 24-team field in 2019.

Group A Group B Group C Group D
New Zealand Canada Japan England
Norway Nigeria Costa Rica China PR
Philippines Australia Spain Haiti
Switzerland Republic of Ireland Zambia Denmark
Group E Group F Group G Group H
United States France Sweden Germany
Netherlands Brazil South Africa Colombia
Portugal Jamaica Italy Korea Republic
Vietnam Panama  Argentina Morocco

Women’s World Cup Stages & Rounds

The tournament starts with the group stage where the teams in each group play round robin matches. Once the group stage has concluded, the top two teams from each group will advance to the knockout rounds.

Here are a few key dates to mark on your calendar:

  • August 5-8: Round of 16
  • August 10-12: Quarterfinals
  • August 15-16: Semifinals
  • August 19: Third Place Play-Off
  • August 20: World Cup Final

What Team Won the Last Women’s World Cup?

In 2019, the U.S. Women’s National Team (USWNT) captured its second consecutive World Cup title after defeating the Netherlands. No team has won three in a row, so USA will be chasing history this year.

Who are the Stars of the USWNT?

Team USA is loaded with both experienced stars and up-and-coming talent. Here’s the full team that will be competing this year:

  • Goalkeepers (3): Aubrey Kingsbury, Casey Murphy, Alyssa Naeher
  • Defenders (7): Alana Cook, Crystal Dunn, Emily Fox, Naomi Girma, Sofia Huerta, Kelley O’Hara, Emily Sonnett
  • Midfielders (7): Savannah DeMelo, Julie Ertz, Lindsey Horan, Rose Lavelle, Kristie Mewis, Ashley Sanchez, Andi Sullivan
  • Forwards (6): Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe, Trinity Rodman, Sophia Smith, Alyssa Thompson, Lynn Williams

Where Can I Watch the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup?

FOX Sports has the broadcasting rights for the event, which means you can watch the games on the FOX broadcast network, the FOX Sports App, and FS1. If you’re a cord cutter, you can stream the channels you need with services like Hulu + Live TV, Fubo, YouTube TV, and more.

Get Connected With the Right TV Plan Today

Whether you want to catch a specific game or to see every match possible, SmartMove has you covered. We can provide information about the best TV provider in your area, ensuring you’ll have reliable TV coverage from the first kick to the final goal.

Get Connected

Enter the address where you'd like your Internet service.

Find My Provider
Or give us a call:  1.877.298.8998

Ready To Get Connected

Enter your address to get started