Return to articles

Everything You Need to Know About the 2023 ESPY Awards

Get all the details you need to know about how to watch the 2023 ESPY Awards. Find out when the ceremony is and which channels will offer coverage.

If you’re a sports fan, the 2023 ESPY Awards are a can’t-miss event. From Shohei Ohtani to Candace Parker to LeBron James, some of the world’s greatest athletes will be in attendance.

All-star athletes won’t be the only attendees. Each year the ESPYs draw A-list movie stars, YouTubers, musicians, and more to help provide a night of surprises and entertainment for everyone to enjoy.

When & Where are the ESPYs in 2023?

This year's awards will be held on July 12, 2023, at 8:00 PM ET in Los Angeles.

Where Can I Watch the ESPY Awards?

The award show will air live on ABC. You can access ABC through a TV package from one of these providers or a streaming service that offers local channels. The ceremony is also available to stream on the ABC and ESPN apps.

Notable 2023 ESPY Award Categories & Nominees

Here are some of the most notable categories and the nominees:

  • Best Athlete, Men’s Sports: Nikola Jokic, Aaron Judge, Patrick Mahomes, Lionel Messi
  • Best Athlete, Women’s Sports: Mikaela Shiffrin, Sophia Smith, Iga Świątek, A'ja Wilson
  • Best Breakthrough Athlete: Caitlin Clark, Brock Purdy, Angel Reese, Julio Rodriguez
  • Best Comeback Athlete: Jon Jones, Jamal Murray, Alyssa Thomas, Justin Verlander
  • Best Team: Denver Nuggets (NBA), Georgia Bulldogs (NCAA Football), Kansas City Chiefs (NFL), Las Vegas Aces (WNBA), LSU Tigers (NCAA Women’s Basketball), Oklahoma Sooners (NCAA Softball), Vegas Golden Knights (NHL)

Awards are also given out to the best athletes in certain sports, including the NFL, NBA, MLB, WNBA, NCAA, NHL, UFC, and more. See a full list of nominees for more information about what awards will be handed out.

Honorary ESPY Awards

In addition to the purely sports-focused awards, there are also several honorary awards presented. These awards honor current and former athletes who are making a change in the world, breaking barriers, and living with courage.

The Jimmy V Award For Perseverance (named after Jim Valvano and The V Foundation) celebrates an athlete who has overcome great obstacles. Dick Vitale won this award in 2022 for overcoming his battle with cancer and coming back to make even more epic game calls.

The Arthur Ashe Courage Award is one of the only awards at the ESPYs that isn’t limited to sport-related people. The only eligibility requirement is that the recipient has the “strength in the face of adversity, courage in the face of peril, and the willingness to stand up for their beliefs no matter what the cost.” The award winner in 2022 was Kyiv mayor Vitali Klitschko, who has a tie to the sporting world as well, in that he is a former professional boxer.

A few additional honorary awards include the Muhammad Ali Sports Humanitarian Award, Pat Tillman Award for Service, and Sports Humanitarian Team of the Year.

How We Can Help You Watch the ESPYs & Live Sports

SmartMove is here to help you get paired up with the perfect TV provider so you can watch all the award shows and live sports you want.

No matter where you live, we can find a TV or streaming provider near you.

Get Connected

Enter the address where you'd like your Internet service.

Find My Provider
Or give us a call:  1.877.298.8998

Ready To Get Connected

Enter your address to get started